Navigation Inhalt
MixcloudMixcloud

BERLIN:FM (en)

< BACK
Wed. 29.05. Thu. 30.05. Fri. 31.05. Fri. 31.05. Sat. 01.06. Tue. 04.06. Wed. 05.06. Thu. 06.06. Fri. 07.06. Fri. 07.06. Sat. 08.06. Mon. 10.06. Tue. 11.06. Wed. 12.06. Thu. 13.06. Fri. 14.06. Sat. 15.06. Tue. 18.06. Fri. 21.06. Fri. 21.06. Sat. 22.06. Sun. 23.06. Wed. 26.06. Fri. 28.06. Sat. 29.06. Tue. 02.07. Wed. 03.07. Sat. 06.07. Tue. 09.07. Wed. 10.07. Fri. 12.07. Sat. 13.07. Sat. 13.07. Wed. 17.07. Mon. 22.07. Wed. 24.07. Thu. 25.07. Fri. 26.07. Sat. 27.07. Wed. 31.07. Fri. 09.08. Wed. 14.08. Fri. 16.08. Sat. 17.08. Wed. 21.08. Mon. 02.09. Sat. 07.09. Sat. 07.09. Thu. 12.09. Tue. 17.09. Wed. 18.09. Thu. 19.09. Fri. 20.09. Wed. 25.09. Thu. 26.09. Tue. 01.10. Thu. 03.10. Fri. 04.10. Thu. 10.10. Fri. 11.10. Mon. 14.10. Thu. 17.10. Sat. 19.10. Mon. 21.10. Tue. 22.10. Wed. 23.10. Sat. 26.10. Mon. 28.10. Tue. 29.10. Wed. 30.10. Sat. 02.11. Sun. 03.11. Tue. 05.11. Sat. 09.11. Sun. 10.11. Mon. 11.11. Tue. 12.11. Thu. 14.11. Tue. 19.11. Wed. 20.11. Tue. 26.11. Wed. 27.11. Fri. 13.12.
HipHop, Jazz Thu. 12.09.2024
Doors: 19.30
Show: 20.30

KASSA OVERALL

KASSA OVERALL

BOX1

Kassa Overall (Warp,Brownswood/US) *live*

*Presale 12 €/ 15 €/ 20 € plus fee * Box Office 25 €*

Kassa Overall is a Grammy-nominated musician, emcee, singer, producer and drummer who melds avant-garde experimentation with hip-hop production techniques to tilt the nexus of jazz and rap in unmapped directions.

On his first two studio albums GO GET ICE CREAM AND LISTEN TO JAZZ and I THINK I’M GOOD, Kassa layered virtuosic drumming, meticulous production techniques, and incisive lyricism to establish himself as a rhythmic innovator and visionary poet, using his voice to address the injustices of the carceral system, the pharmaceutical industry, and anti-black racism, while wrangling with the perils of his own mental illness.

On ANIMALS, his Warp Records debut, Kassa pushes his kaleidoscopic, subversive vision further. He layers Roland 808s against avant-garde drumming in the vein of his mentors Elvin Jones and Billy Hart, the latter of whom he studied with at the Oberlin Conservatory of Music. Virtuoso musos appear alongside rap poets, including Danny Brown, Wiki, Lil B, and Shabazz Palaces. Top-flight jazz improvisation weaves in and out of orchestral string arrangements by Jherek Bischoff. The album’s diverse, all-star roster of collaborators includes several of his close friends, like vocalists Nick Hakim, Laura Mvula, Francis and the Lights, and jazz stars like Theo Croker and Vijay Iyer.

ANIMALS pushes Kassa’s message further too, the title a loaded metaphor for the paradoxes of his life as an entertainer and as a black man in America. ANIMALS is the sound of an artist aware of the cost of embodying one’s natural self in the public eye, a deep reckoning with the two-sided truth that to perform one’s freedom for an audience can mean succumbing to life inside a cage.

For this event we offer discounted tickets to give people with less money still access to culture. These quotas are limited and only available at TixforGigs. We trust in your self-assessment: If you can, please book standard tickets and leave the reduced tickets to those who have to save money at the moment.

presented by hhv

Photo: @emerged agency


tix4gigs 13,70 - 22,50 € Online Ticket
resident advisor 22,60 € Online Ticket
Koka36 22 € Hardcover Ticket for Pick-Up or mail delivery

Navigation Inhalt
MixcloudMixcloud

BERLIN:FM

< BACK
Mo. 22.04. Di. 23.04. Mi. 24.04. Do. 25.04. Fr. 26.04. Sa. 27.04. So. 28.04. So. 28.04. Mo. 29.04. Di. 30.04. Fr. 03.05. Fr. 03.05. Sa. 04.05. Sa. 04.05. So. 05.05. Mo. 06.05. Di. 07.05. Mi. 08.05. Do. 09.05. Fr. 10.05. Sa. 11.05. Sa. 11.05. So. 12.05. Mo. 13.05. Mi. 15.05. Fr. 17.05. Sa. 18.05. Di. 21.05. Mi. 22.05. Fr. 24.05. Sa. 25.05. So. 26.05. Mo. 27.05. Mi. 29.05. Do. 30.05. Fr. 31.05. Fr. 31.05. Sa. 01.06. So. 02.06. Di. 04.06. Mi. 05.06. Do. 06.06. Fr. 07.06. Di. 11.06. Sa. 15.06. Di. 18.06. So. 23.06. Mi. 26.06. Di. 02.07. Mi. 03.07. Sa. 06.07. Mi. 10.07. Fr. 12.07. Mo. 22.07. Mi. 24.07. Mi. 31.07. Mi. 14.08. Sa. 17.08. Mi. 21.08. Mo. 02.09. Sa. 07.09. Do. 12.09. Di. 17.09. Mi. 18.09. Fr. 20.09. Mi. 25.09. Do. 03.10. Do. 10.10. Do. 17.10. Sa. 19.10. Mo. 21.10. Di. 22.10. Mi. 23.10. Mi. 30.10. Sa. 02.11. Sa. 09.11. So. 10.11. Mo. 11.11. Di. 12.11. Do. 14.11. Di. 19.11. Mi. 20.11. Fr. 13.12.
HipHop, Jazz Do. 12.09.2024
Doors: 19.30
Show: 20.30

KASSA OVERALL

KASSA OVERALL

BOX1

Kassa Overall (Warp,Brownswood/US) *live*

 *Vorverkauf 12 €/ 15 €/ 20 € plus Gebühren * Abendkasse 25 €*

Kassa Overall ist ein Grammy-nominierter Musiker, MC, Sänger, Produzent und Schlagzeuger, der avantgardistische Experimente mit Hip-Hop-Produktionstechniken vermischt, um die Verbindung von Jazz und Rap in unvorhersehbare Richtungen zu lenken.

Auf seinen ersten beiden Studioalben GO GET ICE CREAM AND LISTEN TO JAZZ und I THINK I'M GOOD kombinierte Kassa virtuoses Schlagzeugspiel, akribische Produktionstechniken und prägnante Lyrik, und etablierte sich damit als rhythmischer Innovator und visionärer Poet, der mit seiner Stimme die Ungerechtigkeiten des Strafvollzugs, der Pharmaindustrie und den Rassismus gegen Schwarze anspricht und gleichzeitig mit den Gefahren seiner eigenen psychischen Erkrankung kämpft.

ANIMALS, sein Debüt auf Warp Records, setzt diese kaleidoskopische und subversive Vision fort. Er schichtet Roland 808s gegen avantgardistisches Schlagzeugspiel im Stil seiner Mentoren Elvin Jones und Billy Hart, bei denen er am Oberlin Conservatory of Music studierte. Virtuose Musiker treten neben Rap-Poeten wie Danny Brown, Wiki, Lil B und Shabazz Palaces auf. Hochkarätige Jazzimprovisationen wechseln sich ab mit orchestralen Streicherarrangements von Jherek Bischoff. Unter den Kollaborateuren des Albums sind einige seiner engen Freunde, wie die Sänger*innen Nick Hakim, Laura Mvula und Francis and the Lights, sowie Jazzstars wie Theo Croker und Vijay Iyer.

ANIMALS führt Kassas Botschaft noch weiter. Der Titel ist eine aufgeladene Metapher für die Paradoxien seines Lebens als Entertainer und als schwarzer Mann in Amerika. ANIMALS ist der Sound eines Künstlers, der sich des Preises bewusst ist, den es kostet, sein natürliches Selbst in der Öffentlichkeit zu verkörpern.

Für diese Veranstaltung bieten wir ermäßigte Tickets an, um auch Menschen mit kleinerem Portmonee Zugang zu Kultur zu ermöglichen. Diese Kontingente sind limitiert und nur bei TixforGigs verfügbar. Wir vertrauen auf Eure Selbsteinschätzung: Wenn ihr könnt, bucht Standard-Tickets und überlasst die ermäßigten Kontingente denjenigen, die gerade sehr sparen müssen.

präsentiert von hhv

Photo: @emerged agency


tix4gigs 13,70 - 22,50 € Online Ticket
resident advisor 22,60 € Online Ticket
Koka36 22 € Hardcover Ticket zur Abholung oder Postversand